Practice routine for busy mom

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum Practice routine for busy mom

Tagged: 

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Laura Castro
      Participant

Hi! My kids (9 and 11) are taking violin lesson (they’re in Suzuki books 2 and 3, working with their teacher remotely). I’m mostly self-taught, having taken lessons on and off when available over the past 30+ years. I would call myself a proficient fiddler, but I’d always love to improve! We subscribed here on the suggestion of the kids’ teacher.

I’m trying to develop a practice routine for myself, and I’m finding it to be difficult. Both my kids take violin and piano lessons, so they practice daily. We also homeschool. Even when writing “practice” on my own to-do list, I find I never actually pick up my fiddle. I feel like if I had a list of things to practice, and I left my fiddle out on a stand (upstairs, since we also have 2 huge dogs and 2 cats who would probably destroy it if I left it in plain sight), I might practice more often and improve. But what ends up happening is, if I happen to have 15 minutes and actually remember to practice, I just briefly run through songs that I enjoy and put it away.

I’d love to incorporate the resources on this website, as well, but it’s pretty overwhelming! Does anyone have any tips? Thanks!

George Bretz
      Participant

Laura,
      You sound a lot like me! My son was even a Suzuki kid….35 years ago! That’s an excellent foundation for them.
      I too consider myself a competent fiddler. I also just ran through tunes I knew or wanted to learn, until I joined this site.
      You sound like a victim of what we all fall prey to: ‘life gets in the way’. Don’t beat yourself up. Stay at it.
      Retirement was a great benefit to time management for me. You have a ways to go.
      On to your dilemma. Things to consider:

*you know there is a ‘techniques’ tab on the site. Maybe find a technique you want to focus on for a bit.