Upgrading for the future…

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum General Fiddle Forum Topics Upgrading for the future…

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Wafflestomper
      Participant

This is probably going to be more of a ramble than a question. I apologize…

I’m just curious about what level of fiddles people are playing, especially around the jamming and contest circles.

I started playing when I was eight. I did the contest and jamming thing, but our families didn’t have a lot of money. We were always fortunate enough to get some pretty decent fiddles for the price. I remember if someone had a $1500 fiddle it was like “WOW!!”

But we played them hard, and we won state contests with them, our group of scrubs did “okay” at Weiser.

Due to career and life.. I fell out of playing when I was about 20. I hit a plateau and just never had the time, drive or money to get past it. And there my fiddle sat in the closet. It eventually got sold when financial crises hit, and was later replaced with a really cool turn of the century Stainer copy that doesn’t play worth a damn. But it was a gift from my granparents, and its cool looking… so I held on to it.

Recently, something lit a fire under my butt. Either my neice and nephew are getting into fiddling, and taking lessons from some very respected fiddlers (which means I have to get back on my game if we are gonna jam) or the fact that we have decided to move back to our home state… which means I will be jamming with all my old buddies and doing the rounds.

After about 20 years, it was a struggle.. I could’nt even remember how to hold the thing. I felt like I had sausage fingers. The brain still remembered most things, but the old chassis is getting a bit broke down.