tone/inotnation

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum tone/inotnation

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      BazNF
      Participant

I’m sure this is a very common issue, and maybe there’s no real answer: I’ve been playing the fiddle for 20 years and I’m STILL uncomfortable playing in public (accordion and singing is not a problem so it’s not nerves). It’s TONE and intonation. Other than the speed/pressure/placement tips, is there any other reason why the tone can sound crappy? Any intonation tips? Finally, does anybody find that the fiddle sounds different (ie: worse) played than heard back? People tell me “it sounds fine” but to me it’s garbage. M’aider! 😉

robhanson
      Participant

Hi to BazNF!

I have played many stringed instruments over the years and can tell you that the sound you hear at the ear is not the sound heard by the listener. For the most part you will never know what the instrument really sounds like until you are about 5 plus feet from the instrument. Also if you have been playing for 20 years on the violin/fiddle, you may have some ear damage or hearing loss in your left ear.

Have someone else play your instrument and take a listen.

As far as intonation, (speed, pressure, placement of the bow), you probably can find tips on the web. I would recommend finding a live person to help you with this.

As for Tone, their are a lot of factors. (the instrument itself, setup, bow, yourself) Theses are just a few.

Lastly if you have a pickup on the fiddle or you mic the fiddle. This also can be a big factor.

Wish you luck!

Kind Regards,

rob hanson

Roland White

HI to BazNEF & Rob,