music festivals

Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      John W.
      Participant

Hi Casey and the gang, I was wondering if any of you ever attends anything like the Clifftop old time music festival? this question is for members as well. Im in my first year and i was thinking about taking a summer vacation to one of these events, they look like alot of fun. does anyone have any recommendations?

DianeG
      Participant

Hi John. Yes, I go to several camps each year. I consider them amazing vacations….you get there and stay there for the time allotted. Everything is there that you love, …music, great instructors, good food, new friends, challenges in learning…maybe learning to play by ear..: >), jamming and a new place to explore. I go to Old-Time week at Jay and Molly’s Ashokan camps in the NY Catskill mountains…about 2 hours north of NYC. This camp is in mid August. Registration is now open. Check out Ashokan.org This will be my 11th year in going to this camp. Check out the website and see all the camps they offer during the Summer. I have not been to Clifftop but I hear it is fun. I like an organized camp…with lodging, food and fun teachers and lots of things to do…that is why I love the Askokan camps so much. You might check out this camp in Asheville, NC. I use to go there but now go back to Ashokan. Swananoa Camp, Warren and Wilson College. http://www.swangathering.com
      Alasdair Fraser…amazing Scottish Fiddler….has camps during the Summer all over the world…two are in NoCal but are currently booked with no openings. Camps are great…it’s just picking one that suits you for the way you want to travel, camp and learn. See you at camp. Jay’s camp: ashokan.org
      Stay tuned. Diane in SoCal

Roland White