Left Hand Technique (for a left handed player)

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum Fiddling Techniques and Playing Advice Left Hand Technique (for a left handed player)

Tagged: 

Viewing 5 reply threads
  • Author
      Drew Moores
      Participant

Hello,

I am a beginner player. I also happen to be a left-handed player, so in my case I am actually refering to my right-handed technique (fretting hand). I own a right handed violin, and am purposely trying to learn to play it upside down.

Because I have been playing a right-handed violin, the chin rest is on the wrong side of the violin, making it difficult for me to support the instrument with my shoulder and chin. Therefore I have fallen into the habbit of supporting the instrument with my arm near the palm of my hand. Much like folks would hold it in the “3rd position”. I understand that this is not the proper way to hold it, but I wonder if it is a very bad habbit, or not so bad. I see some fiddlers doing this here and there, such as Ashley Macissac (a Lefty Cape Breton Fiddler), and they seem to get on just fine.

Does anyone have any input on this? Any Left-handed players?

Drew

Casey Willis
      Keymaster