How to travel with a violin.

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum How to travel with a violin.

Viewing 7 reply threads
  • Author
      tndel
      Participant

Does anyone have any recommendations regarding traveling with my violin as a carry-on when flying. I have just the “normal” violin case, nothing fancy or fiberglass. Do I need to buy a special case for travel, and what about loosing the strings- how much? I am a student and this will be the first time I have had to fly with my violin, and I don’t want to end up with a broken instrument. Thanks for any suggestions!

Casey Willis
      Keymaster

Hi, TNDel.

I don’t generally loosen strings…and I never allow my fiddle to be put underneath the plane.

I think there may be some guidance/requirements for airlines on this. My main advice would be to look at the carry on dimension limitations of whatever airline you are flying and make sure your fiddle case is within those dimensions…then stick to your guns if an attendant tries to make you put your instrument under the plane.

If your fiddle is in the overhead bin, I would think that you’ll be fine!

C

Roland White

Just talked with a traveling fiddler and she Ratifies that Overhead bins are fair game even for larger fiddle cases.
      Best, Roland

tndel
      Participant

Thank you, I appreciate your input!

ogohiap
      Participant

Hi Tndel

I’ve flown a lot in the last thirty years, invariably with a fiddle or similar instrument (mandolin, tenor banjo), and have also made my living for many years repairing and restoring fiddles (mostly violins). So I’ll try to combine those perspectives.