How to find a Practice Partner?

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum General Fiddle Forum Topics How to find a Practice Partner?

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      awdemers
      Participant

Hey All! I am new to Fiddlevideo.com, and definitely new to the fiddle…about 9 months into playing after decades of not playing any instruments at all. Right now, my focus is on ITM. I have an excellent out-of-town instructor with whom I primarily Skype, with occasional face-to-face lessons. I find I’ve gone from not wanting to play in front of anyone else EVER to wishing I could find other adult learners like myself to play with. Either my location is not particularly “rich” in this music genre, or I’m not looking in the right places. Yes, I’ve checked out sessions at local pubs, the best one nearby is excellent and not “slow,” and not particularly open. A local liberal arts college has an excellent music school, emphasis on classical/jazz. Even my strings shop is at a loss for ideas. Since so many of us are playing in isolation now with the internet resources that are available, any thoughts out there on how I can find some live humans to interact with?

RegisM
      Participant

Wish you were in VA. I’ve been playing the fiddle for about 2 years and though my teacher is amazing (and practices with me often), oft times I find myself wishing I had someone to practice with.

Casey Willis
        Keymaster

Hi AW and Regis. It sounds like you are looking in the right places…just no luck! Are there any local or regional associations which coordinate sessions in your area? Usually there are a few options out there. You might try contacting a well-known national organization and asking for contacts in your area.

But I can relate – I used to drive for an hour or two when I was younger just to play with similar musicians. Being able to play with other musicians is not a good thing…it’s a GREAT thing! Good luck to you both!!

awdemers
      Participant