How do I know when I’m practicing right?

Home Forums Fiddle Lesson Forum Fiddling Techniques and Playing Advice How do I know when I’m practicing right?

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Lightningie
      Participant

Hello!
      Awesome to see a new instructor! Definitely wonderful

Something I’d like to ask in regards to practicing and solidifying skills: how do I know when I’m doing it right? Meaning – I see expert players demonstrating the different techniques and how to practice them. So because I know its not something I can replicate instantly, and understand that it’ll take time to learn to do well, I worry that instead of practicing so that it gets better, I’m actually practicing in a way that makes it worse
      From a complete beginner level, is there a way to base my progress on certain milestones maybe?

Been playing for about 3 years. I have a lot left to learn, and I’m excited for it! 😀

Casey Willis
      Keymaster

Hi, Lightningie.

Good question. You’re thinking about the right things.

I would say that when it comes to specific techniques, you should consider using a metronome with whatever skill on which you are working. Listen or watch what you are doing with a critical eye and ear as you work. If you find that you are making mistakes (even minor ones), or you tone/intonation/timing starts to drop off, back off the speed at which you are practicing. You are absolutely right that if you practice something wrong, you simply solidify that issue going forward.

Kevin Burke has some interesting thoughts from a different perspective related to being able to play Irish tunes up to speed here. I fully appreciate his thoughts and think they are valid. Plus, Kevin is hilarious, so that’s reason enough to hear what he says. But I’ve always taken the approach of starting slow and incrementally working up to my target tempo.